EOS Prize

Thanks to Pierre Zaleski, the former administrator of Europtica Services IC (ESIC), EOS has received a donation from the capital remaining after the dissolution of ESIC. According to the wishes expressed by ESIC, this donation will be managed in such a way as to generate revenue to be used for an EOS prize to promote OPTICS in the widest form in Europe. Further details of the rules and condition are given below.

- 1. The purpose of the prize is to encourage a European dimension in research in pure or applied optics.
- 2. The prize will normally be awarded annually to the authors of a research paper on the field of any branch of optics provided that work of adequate quality is submitted.
- The conditions for eligibility are 3. i) That the work was performed in Europe ii) That the work is published under the auspices of the EOS (for example in an EOS journal or at an EOS Topical Meeting) iii) That the work has not been awarded before by another prize committee. iiii) That the paper must be published in the past or present year of the nomination The work should be officially available in form of an electronic version of the text, a printed version from a scientific journal or proceedings. Summaries only will not be considered by the prize committee. If no proceedings were edited from the organizer of the EOS Topical Meeting, a publication in an appropriate European journal will also be accepted. The criteria by which the work will be judged are
- 4. The criteria by which the work will be judged are

 a) High professional / academic /technical quality
 b) Work which is a collaboration between more than one European country will be viewed favourably
 c) Work with adequate scientific content performed in an industrial company is strongly encouraged for a proposition to the prize committee.
- 5. The Past President acts as the chair of the committee. The EOS prize committee shall consist of three to four EOS members with at least one being either a Board member or a Fellow of the EOS. The committee should be appointed for a term of 2 years. Re-election is possible. The Board has the right to vote a committee member out of office in the case of any irregularities in the evaluation of the prize winner.
- 6. The committee shall solicit proposals, evaluate the material and propose a prize winner. The proposal

shall be confirmed by the EXECOM. If the EXECOM should fail to confirm the winner, no prize shall be awarded that year. In such a case any comments from the EXECOM shall be taken into account for the following year.

7. All eligible papers published in the Society's or adequate European journals (see § 3) shall be considered for the prize.

Organisers of EOS Topical Meetings shall be invited to nominate any paper presented at their meeting.

Any member of the EOS shall make a nomination at any time.

The call for nominations should be announced in EOS journals and newsletters, in the announcements of EOS (Topical) Meetings as well as on the EOS home page.

- 8. An EOS prize fund shall be established which shall be used exclusively for the financing of the prize and the direct administration costs. The basis of the fund shall be the capital remaining after the dissolution of Europtica Services IC plus any further donations received unconditionally for this purpose. The fund shall be invested in a manner proposed by the treasurer in order to secure a favourable interest. In no year shall be the administration costs and the sums presented as prizes exceed the interest received during that year.
- 9. The financial year for the prize fund shall coincide with the calendar year. The prize committee shall consider nominations received or published during the year for presentation at the Society's Annual Meeting the following year.
- 10. The prize shall consist of a certificate and a sum of money which shall be suggested by the prize committee and agreed by the EXECOM.
- 11. The EOS prize shall be presented to the winners at a special session of the EOS Annual Meeting or other relevant EOS meetings at which the prize committee shall introduce the winners and the winners shall present their work in a scientific oral presentation.