TOM 6 - Nonlinear Photonics (EOSAM 2012)

Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre, Scotland (GB)
25 September 2012 - 28 September 2012
Submission Timeframe: 
20 August 2012 - 26 August 2012
General Chair(s): 
  • Marc Sciamanna - SUPELEC / France
  • Dmitry Skryabin - University of Bath / United Kingdom
Program Committee: 
  • Stephane Barland - INLN / France
  • Demetrios Christodoulides - University of Central Florida / United States
  • Cornelia Denz - Universität Münster / Germany
  • John Dudley - Institut Femto-St CNRS / France
  • Dmitry Krizhanovskii - University of Sheffield / United Kingdom
  • Dragomir Neshev - Australian National University / Australia
  • Gian-Luca Oppo - University of Strathclyde / United Kingdom
  • Nicolae Coriolan Panoiu - University College London / United Kingdom
  • K. Alan Shore - Bangor University / United Kingdom
  • Ramon Vilaseca Alavedra - Universidad Politécnica de Cataluña / Spain
  • Marc Sciamanna - SUPELEC / France
  • Dmitry Skryabin - University of Bath / United Kingdom


Recent advances in nano- and micro-scale fabrication of photonic structures and materials have created a wave of research on nonlinear and quantum effects, which can happen with an unprecedented efficiency or bare previously unexpected properties. On the other hand, more traditional areas of nonlinear optics, such as fibre optics, nonlinear optics of gases and crystals, and sources of coherent radiation not only underpin these advances, but make remarkable progress in their own right.
Metamaterials and plasmonic based nanostructures compete with the semiconductor waveguides and microcavities for providing the best confinement of photons and for boosting strength of the light matter interaction with the aim to reduce the device footprints and to lower the threshold powers for nonlinear functionalities.
Silicon, graphene and other materials are explored intensely for nonlinear and quantum applications. Using pure light waves is currently challenged by the devices operating with coherent half-light half-matter polaritons or condensed bosons. Semiconductor lasers and their arrays demonstrate remarkable complexity of their dynamics used for information processing. Fundamental nonlinear physics in optical fibres is enjoying its renaissance through the advent of microstructured fibres.
We are inviting contributions in all these and many other fundamental and applied sub-areas of nonlinear photonics and optics. 


Final Programme

The Final Programme is now online: Final Programme (pdf-file, 1.51 MB).


Plenary Speaker

  • Frank Wise, Cornell University (US)


Invited Speakers

  • Alberto Amo, LPN (FR)
  • Claudio Conti, Universitá di Roma “La Sapienza” (IT)
  • Sara Ducci, Université Paris Diderot (FR)
  • Guillaume Huyet, Tyndall National Institute (IE)
  • Jochen Schroeder, University of Sydney (AU)
  • Maurice S. Skolnick, University of Sheffield (GB)
  • Alexander Szameit, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (DE)
  • Sergei Turitsyn, Aston University (GB)



  • Nonlinear and quantum optics in metamaterials and nanostructures
  • Semiconductor microcavities and waveguides
  • Optical solitons, spatial and temporal effects
  • Nonlinear optics in fibres
  • Nonlinear optics with exciton-polaritons and plasmon-polaritons
  • Nonlinear and quantum optomechanics; sound-light interaction
  • Fundamentals and applications of nonlinear optics, materials
  • Optical chaos, chaos synchronization and networks of coupled oscillators
  • Nonlinear optics of graphene
  • Active photonic devices and terahertz nonlinear optics

Abstract submission

Opening of submission 2 April 2012
Deadline for abstract submission 7 May 2012
Notification to authors 8 June 2012
Abstracts can only be submitted online via Authors are requested to submit an extended abstract of a minimum of one page and a maximum of two pages with at least one figure. The abstract must be formatted according to the EOS abstract guidelines, which can be downloaded at
Contributions will be accepted for oral and poster presentation. Please indicate your preference. All accepted contributions are to be published on the EOSAM 2012 digest CD-ROM (ISBN numbered) which will be available on-site. At least one author is requested to register for the meeting separately from abstract submission. The registration includes admission to all Topical Meetings, the workshop, special events and the exhibition.

Springer Award for Students

The two best student presentations (oral and poster) will be awarded a diploma, an EOS student membership and a book sponsored by Springer.

Paper publication in JEOS:RP

Attendees of EOSAM 2012 receive a 20% discount on the publication rate for JEOS:RP (Journal of the European Optical Society: Rapid Publications). The paper submitted must be an original contribution that is connected to EOSAM 2012 and will be reviewed against JEOS:RP's regular standards for insight, quality and novelty.
JEOS:RP is a peer-reviewed open-access journal at The 2011 Impact Factor: 1.019

Paper submission deadline: 30 November 2012

Special publication fee for standard papers of EOS attendees

  • 280 € (instead of 350 €) for full EOS members
  • 320 € (instead of 400 €) for non EOS members

For further information please see:


General information about EOSAM 2012

For general information about EOSAM 2012 please see or download the Final Programme here.


Invitation Letters

If you require an invitation letter for this meeting, please fill in the invitation letter form:



EOS - Events & Services GmbH
Garbsener Landstrasse 10
30419 Hannover, Germany

Phone: +49 511 2788 115
Fax: +49 511 2788 119